Just Call Me Kitchen Samurai

August 29th marked John’s and my 5th anniversary. It’s only been a little over a year since we got married but we had our first date on August 29, 2007. I can’t believe it’s only been 5 years, it feels like we’ve been together forever (in the best way). We promised each other that we weren’t going to do gifts but of course John had to conveniently forget our agreement and got me something anyways. A very thoughtful, special, and expensive something might I add: a Shun 8 inch chef’s knife.

You’ll remember one of my 30 Before 30 Project goals was “Number 7. Buy new chef’s knives.” Well I bookmarked the Shun knife after some fantastic suggestions from friends and stared lovingly at it once a week. Apparently my obsessing didn’t go unnoticed. John surprised me the night before our anniversary with this beauty.

IMG_3464

IMG_3466IMG_3470

The Shun knives are made out of 33 layers of stainless steel and are forged in Japan. The blade is unbelievably sharp. This knife will make short work out of anything!

IMG_3480

John also got us a new knife sharpener that will work perfectly with the Shun.

IMG_3509

The manual adjustments allow you to get the perfect sharpening angle for any knife.

IMG_3515

He also got this very sleek magnetic blade cover to keep our new baby (and our fingers) protected.

IMG_3523IMG_3530

I’m so excited to start using this baby. Keep an eye out, I’m sure this isn’t the last you’ve seen of it!

Author: Domestocrat

I'm a lady who enjoys photography, football, cooking, long drives with the windows down, This American Life, kettlecorn, hot yoga, pop punk, my nephews, my cat Reggie, and my home: Boston.

Leave a comment