Recipe: Buttermilk Corn Muffins

I grew up on corn muffins. They are the perfect side to almost any dinner, pair perfectly with soup for lunch, are always breakfast, and are a heck of a snack. Something about the crunchy outside just gets me. Slather it with raspberry jam and it’s all over.

I woke up over the weekend craving a warm muffin straight from the oven. I consulted my trusty King Arthur Flour 200th Anniversary Cookbook, made some modifications, and enjoyed some of the best homemade corn muffins ever.

Domestocrat’s Buttermilk Corn Muffins (Adapted from the King Arthur Flour 200th Anniversary Cookbook recipe for PDQ Cornmeal Muffins)
1 cup AP flour (I exclusively use King Arthur’s Unbleached AP Flour)
1 cup yellow cornmeal
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tbsp. baking powder
1.25 cups buttermilk
1/4 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs
2 tbsp. honey

IMG_1411

In one bowl thoroughly combine the Dry Team (first 5 ingredients).

IMG_1413IMG_1415

In another bowl mix together the Wet Team (last 4 ingredients). Buttermilk is really the key to this recipe. It can be swapped for regular milk no problem but the tangy flavor really compliments the sweetness of the sugar and honey.

IMG_1416IMG_1419

Slowly incorporate the Dry Team into the Wet Team until the batter is smooth and lump free.

IMG_1421IMG_1422

Line a muffin/cupcake tin with liners (or grease liberally if you don’t have liners). This recipe made 18 muffins for me.

IMG_1425IMG_1438

Bake on 400 degrees for roughly 20 minutes, rotating the pan once at the 10 minute mark.

IMG_1436

Hey, while you’re waiting you could clean up the colossal kitchen mess you made. It’s not just me, right?

IMG_1441

Watch those babies rise!

IMG_1451

Remove the muffins when the tops are golden (as I mentioned, it takes about 20 minutes).

IMG_1452IMG_1458

These muffins are delicious! Crunchy on the outside, moist in the middle. Serve them up with some butter and raspberry jam. And a side of bacon. Always bacon.

IMG_1474IMG_1482

Pro Tip: Seal  the leftover muffins (if there are any) up tightly in a freezer bag and freeze for up to a month. I loved this recipe so much that I’m actually baking up a second batch while I’m writing this post to keep in the freezer. A second batch is always a great way to use up that pesky leftover buttermilk too.

IMG_1506

Author: Domestocrat

I'm a lady who enjoys photography, football, cooking, long drives with the windows down, This American Life, kettlecorn, hot yoga, pop punk, my nephews, my cat Reggie, and my home: Boston.

4 thoughts

Leave a comment