Recipe: Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_2552I’ll admit it, in the summer my recipe blogs really start to suffer. It’s tough being stuck in a hot kitchen when the sun is shining, backyard BBQs are calling, and bike rides are happening. Over the past few weeks I’ve noticed my absence from social media on the weekends too and it’s a good feeling. Having so much fun you forget/don’t need to be online. So blogging kind of falls into that category too, unfortunately.

However things have been good lately, real good, and I have some great news to share soon. My good mood paired with a new celebratory tone to my life drove me into the kitchen, set on some classic chocolate chip cookies. Good thing I had some delicious chocolate chunks stashed away for just the right occasion.

Domestocrat’s Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies (yields 18 cookies)
1/2 cup butter, browned (see below)
1.5 cups brown sugar
2 cups AP flour
2 eggs
2 tbsp. molasses
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 tsp. salt
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. espresso powder
8 oz. chocolate chunks (or chips)

Start by making the brown butter. Brown butter is, literally, butter that has been browned like you would brown meat or vegetables. By browning it, the butter releases all of its’ water, the flavor intensifies, and the milk solids toast to perfection. The first step is to melt the butter over low heat in a saucepot. After a few minutes it will begin to foam. As the foam dies down (which is the water cooking out), the melted butter will turn a pale gold and almost look clear (at this point it’s technically clarified butter). This is when the milk solids begin to brown. Stir often and do not take your eyes off the pot! The brown butter is done when the brown bits are a deep brown color (the color of milk chocolate). Set the brown butter aside to cool for at least 15-20 minutes.

IMG_2568IMG_2579IMG_2587

On to the batter!

IMG_2573IMG_2581

Mix all of the dry ingredients together in a stand mixer (or big bowl) then slowly add the wet ingredients.

IMG_2576IMG_2586

When everything is thoroughly combined, add the chocolate chunks.

IMG_2590IMG_2603

With a spoon or disher (I use a #20 ice cream scooper), scoop the dough onto a parchment paper lined cookie sheet.

IMG_2606

Bake the cookies on 350 degrees for 12 minutes, rotating the pan(s) at least once.

IMG_2608IMG_2615

The finished cookies may look a little raw but they aren’t! Let them cool completely and you’ll see the texture will end up perfectly moist and super chewy.

IMG_2621IMG_2623

These cookies aren’t called Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies for nothing. They are literally the best chocolate chip cookies I’ve ever made. The molasses adds a toffee-like flavor, the brown butter is warm and nutty, and espresso powder enhances the depth of the chocolate chunks. The texture is perfect too; slightly crisp around the edge and chewy in the middle. It’s the type of cookie you’d find in a fancy bakery for $5.

IMG_2627

I totally understand staying out of the kitchen this summer but if you turn on your oven at all, I hope it’s to bake these cookies.

Author: Domestocrat

I'm a lady who enjoys photography, football, cooking, long drives with the windows down, This American Life, kettlecorn, hot yoga, pop punk, my nephews, my cat Reggie, and my home: Boston.

5 thoughts

Leave a comment