Recipe: Sour Cream Coffee Cake

IMG_1503In my world one of the most satisfying things is finding a blog that inspires me. Shutterbean has easily been at the top of my inspiration list for years – her photographs are lovely, she has an artistic eye similar to mine, her recipes are killer, and she hits that blogging sweet spot of seeming both like a total rockstar and real person. I just love her.

When she posted the recipe for her mom’s sour cream coffee cake I bookmarked it immediately. I’m not a huge fan of coffee cake but this recipe looked like it had the potential to convert me. Plus, John loves coffee cake and since I’ve never made it, I wanted to surprise him.

Shutterbean’s Mom’s Sour Cream Coffee Cake (original recipe here)
1.5 cups butter
1.5 cups sugar
1.5 tsp. vanilla
3 eggs
1.5 cups sour cream
3 cups AP flour
1.5 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1 cup chopped walnuts
1.5 tsp. cinnamon (I use King Arthur’s Vietnamese cinnamon)
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 tbsp. of vanilla & water, mixed together

For the maple glaze:
1.25 cups confectioner’s sugar
1/2 cup maple syrup
1 tsp. vanilla

Cream together the butter and sugar. Mix in the vanilla and eggs, then the dry ingredients. Isn’t this the most beautiful batter you’ve ever seen?

IMG_1505IMG_1506

Finally, mix in the sour cream. Don’t worry, this coffee cake isn’t going to taste like seven layer dip. The sour cream adds a wonderful creaminess, richness, and smoothness to the batter. Sour cream creates a light and super moist cake. It’s subtle, but powerful – trust me. And if you’re still skeptical, use greek yogurt. It’s the perfect substitute.

IMG_1507IMG_1508

Mix it good.

IMG_1509

While the batter is mixing, create the nut filling. Combine walnuts, cinnamon, and sugar in a separate bowl and combine thoroughly.

IMG_1510IMG_1511

When the batter and filling are done, it’s time to make cake! Liberally grease a bundt pan. Pour in one third of the batter and top with one third of the nut mixture. Make sure each layer is even.

IMG_1513

In a separate bowl mix the water and vanilla. Top each batter/nut layer with one third of the vanilla water. Shutterbean advises that this step is key and she’s totally right.

IMG_1515

Repeat the layers – batter, nut mixture, vanilla water – twice more. Bake on 325 degrees for roughly 90 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool in the pan for about 20 minutes. Turn the cake out on to a wire rack and cool completely.

IMG_1517IMG_1519

Right before serving the cake mix up the glaze and drizzle over the top of each slice, if you want. I think you should.

IMG_1520IMG_1521

This cake is moist, sweet, and has a delicious nutty swirl on the inside. A must make. Thank you Shutterbean!

Author: Domestocrat

I'm a lady who enjoys photography, football, cooking, long drives with the windows down, This American Life, kettlecorn, hot yoga, pop punk, my nephews, my cat Reggie, and my home: Boston.

7 thoughts

Leave a comment