Recipe: Pumpkin Honey Dinner Rolls

I think this year I made a pretty diverse group of sweet and savory pumpkin recipes. Tis’ the season! I tackled side dishes and main dishes alike and I’m pretty proud of that!

When we needed a side dish to go with a big dinner salad last week I immediately thought “more pumpkin!” and whipped these up.

Domestocrat’s Pumpkin Honey Dinner Rolls (adapted from The Luna Cafe, yields 16 rolls)
4 cups flour (I used 2 cups King Arthur Sir Lancelot flour and 2 cups King Arthur bread flour)
2.5 tsp. yeast (I use SAF Red Instant Yeast)
1.25 cups warm water
1 tsp. sugar
2 eggs
1.25 cup pumpkin puree
1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted but­ter
1/2 cup honey
1 tsp. cinnamon (I use King Arthur’s Vietnamese cinnamon)
1 tsp. black pepper
1 tsp. kosher salt

Combine everything together in a big bowl or stand mixer with the dough hook attached.

IMG_6191

Put the dough in a large greased bowl to rise. Cover with a kitchen towel and keep in a warm place for up to 4 hours. When my dough had doubled in size, it was time to make the rolls!

IMG_6197IMG_6198

Knead the dough on a flour dusted surface for a minute or two. Using a dough scraper, divide the dough into 16 equal sized portions. My method for dividing is to cut the dough in half and then to keep halving it until I have roll-sized portions.

IMG_6205IMG_6208

Cover your hands in either flour or water (to prevent sticking) and roughly roll out each dough ball. Place each ball in a parchment paper lined baking dish. Once all the dough balls are rolled out, let the dough rise again in the baking dish for another hour or so.

IMG_6210IMG_6214

Bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes or until the tops are golden brown. Enjoy warm and smeared with butter.

IMG_5613

These rolls will stay in the fridge in an airtight container for a week. A total Thanksgiving make ahead!

Author: Domestocrat

I'm a lady who enjoys photography, football, cooking, long drives with the windows down, This American Life, kettlecorn, hot yoga, pop punk, my nephews, my cat Reggie, and my home: Boston.

5 thoughts

Leave a comment